The Central Michigan Chippewas shouldn’t have won on Saturday, but they did. They beat the No. 17 Oklahoma State Cowboys 30-27 on a Hail Mary, hook and lateral that never should have happened.
On the final play of regulation, Oklahoma State threw a pass out of bounds with no Cowboys in the area where the ball was thrown as time elapsed. Officials called intentional grounding — that’s correct. But then, they made a serious mistake.
The officials marked off the penalty and gave Central Michigan an untimed down. But the rulebook indicates that when a foul occurs that involves a loss of down, that brings the game to an end. Oops!
Even though it wasn’t supposed to happen, it did. Watch…
— FS1 (@FS1) September 10, 2016