2009 Silly Season Tracker - Updated 7/14

July 14, 2008 by Tim Zaegel  
Filed under Racing

- DEI has picked up the 2009 option on Martin Truex Jr, though Truex disputes the legality of the verbiage in the contract.
- Hendrick Motorsports has announced the release of Casey Mears for next season.
- Richard Childress Racing has extended Clint Bowyer’s contract through 2011.
- Roush-Fenway Racing has extended Greg Biffle’s contract through 2011.
- Gillette-Evernham Motorsports has signed Elliott Sadler through 2010.
- Richard Childress Racing has announced the addition of the #33 car as a fourth Cup team in 2009.
- Petty Enterprises has signed Bobby LaBonte through 2012.
- Roush-Fenway Racing has signed Carl Edwards through 2011.
- Due to a lack of sponsorship, Chip Ganassi Racing is forced to shut down the no. 40 car driven by Dario Franchitti for the remainder of the season.
- Hendrick Motorsports has signed Mark Martin to drive the no. 5 car full-time in 2009 and part-time in 2010.
- Tony Stewart announced his departure from Joe Gibbs Racing to go to Stewart Haas Racing (formerly Haas CNC Racing) as a 50% owner and a full-time driver in 2009.

Teams Without an Assigned 2009 Driver:
- Dale Earnhardt Inc. - No. 01 car
- Penske Racing - No. 12 car
- Dale Earnhardt Inc. - No. 15 car
- Joe Gibbs Racing - No. 20 car
- Wood Brothers Racing - No. 21 car
- Bill Davis Racing - No. 22 car
- Yates Racing - No. 28 car
- Richard Childress Racing - No. 33 car
- Furniture Row Motorsports - No. 34 car
- Chip Ganassi Racing - No. 41 car
- Stewart Haas Racing - No. 66 or No. 70 car

Drivers Without a Definitive 2009 Ride:
- Regan Smith
- Casey Mears
- Ryan Newman
- Paul Menard
- Dave Blaney
- Marcos Ambrose
- Travis Kvapil
- Tony Raines
- Reed Sorenson
- Scott Riggs
- Johnny Sauter
- Jeremy Mayfield
- Brad Keselowski
- David Stremme
- Jacques Villeneuve
- Kenny Wallace
- Ken Schrader
- Ward Burton
- Dario Franchitti

Other Potential Rides & Drivers that Could Become Available
(Pending variable circumstances):
- Dale Earnhardt Inc. - No. 1 Car - Current Driver: Martin Truex Jr.
- Gillette-Evernham Motorsports - No. 10 Car - Current Driver: Patrick Carpentier
- Roush Fenway Racing - No. 26 Car - Current Driver: Jamie McMurray
- Penske Racing - No. 77 Car - Current Driver: Sam Hornish Jr.

BallHype: hype it up!

  • StumbleUpon
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google
  • TwitThis
  • Reddit
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Slashdot
  • BallHype
  • YardBarker


3 Responses to “2009 Silly Season Tracker - Updated 7/14”
  1. RevJim says:

    I’m finally getting over my skepticism, and now I have learned my lesson that guillability is the way to go and all rumors are probably true.
    If Newman is going to Stewart-Haas, I see Stremme in the 12

  2. Tim Zaegel says:

    As you can see from my List of the Week this week, I, too, believe that Penske will promote Stremme to the no. 12 ride next season.

  3. Dan says:

    Why not give mayfield another chance. It would take an idiot after sitting out this long to make the same mistakes he has made all over again.
    I have heard the term he is cancer to a team I do not recall anyone running bad because of his actions .Usually the other driver on his team was running better and that helped fuel the fire of his frustration. Tony Stewart has popped off a few times and he is not black listed .How many times have you seen Mayfield take a swing at someone on national television (Harvick).The bottom line is he is very marketable and if I have to be the one to say it he drives pretty darn good to . I think that anyone looking at the list of available drivers out there right now would be crazy not to move Jeremy to the top of there list.

    Of course these are my view of things
    but I do consider myself pretty smart when it comes to running a profitable business !

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

About Us | Advertise with us | Blog for EveryJoe | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use
Get This Theme | Sitemap

All content is Copyright © 2005-2009 b5media. All rights reserved.